PLP Program Review

In the past 60 days I have done in addition to my regular workouts, 2370 chins, lunges and over 6000 pushups as part of Chad Waterbury’s PLP Program.

 

I have had some success doing some of Chad’s high frequency stuff in the past, and before I started this I was doing 100 pushups daily to try and add some more size to my chest.

The PLP program basically requires you to start off at 10 reps for each exercise and add a rep to each exercise set every day. By adding in more work without overly taxing the nervous system, it allows you to develop more strength, hypertrophy and capacity to handle more exercise which is one of the keys to growth.

I’m currently on my second round of the program and I feel that my back, legs and chest are benefitting from all the extra work. I modified the program slightly to perform 100 pushups a day, because I felt that doing less wasn’t really challenging my muscles like it was when I was doing the 100 per day thing. I try to get the majority of the sets done in the morning before work, and I have to say I love the early morning pump and ”warming effect” it has on these cold mornings.

Working these bodyparts every day have resulted in more endurance in performing greater reps for these exercises and I can tell that my work capacity has greatly improved. I maintain a nice pump in the areas worked on a daily basis which feels kinda cool. Will definitely keep this supplementary work as a mainstay in my future programs.

  2 comments for “PLP Program Review

  1. T
    August 25, 2013 at 4:27 am

    Hi, I just found this blog when searching for reviews of PLP. You said you were doing your second round–how did you make it more difficult (in particular the chinups)? And are you still doing it? Thanks!

    Like

    • May 18, 2014 at 3:28 am

      Hey I’ve done a few extra rounds since that time and I find PLP to be a very useful way of conditioning, adding strength and maintaining a continous “pleasing pumped” look to your muscles. To make it more challenging each time, I’ve found building up the reps or simply increasing a couple of kilos in weight used is more than enough to keep the muscles challenged. One caveat with the program is that I found overuse injuries began to creep in – particularly with chin ups. For some reason, I strain my tricep while chinning (more common than you would thing) which really throws a spanner in the works, so to speak. I’ve also found that doing daily lunges tends to blur leg definition if that’s your goal. I think lighter daily sets of speed squats work better in improving your squat poundages over time.

      Like

Leave a Reply

