Ultimate Diet 2.0 – Week One Log

Day One

 Lyle describes in his UD2.0 that training for glycogen depletion on the first day of low calories is enough to make anyone want to hunt him down and kick his ass. He wasn’t joking. This was one hard workout. Six sets per body-part. 15-20 reps for 2 cycles. Dropping from 1600 to 1200 calories made the act of lifting weights for high reps an excruciatingly test of will due to the overall decreased energy I had for the day. My diet and supplementation for the Monday (and repeated Tuesday) was:

  7:00 – Pepto Pro + Leucine Shake (Calcium, Curcumin, Test Booster Stack, L-Carnitine, Focus Energy Drink)

 12:00 – Pepto Pro + Leucine Shake

 3:00 – 4 Rice cakes (ALA taken before)

 3:30 – One half of Pepto Pro + Leucine Shake (2gm Tyrosine, Taurine, Arginine, Creatine, Beta Alanine, L-Carnitine, Citrulline Malate)

 Mid Workout – Other half of above shake

 5:00 – Pepto Pro + Leucine Shake (Taurine, Arginine, Creatine, Beta Alanine, L-Carnitine, Citrulline Malate)

 6:30 – 500 gms of fish + one onion fried in coconut oil. Spinach salad. JelloDesert. (2 tsp of fish oil, Vitamin D calcium, Mineral Complex, Superfood, Test-Boosters + Maca)

 I’m still using the Intermittent Fasting approach with protein pulses throughout the day.

 Instead of morning cardio I did 5 sets of 20 push ups super-setted with minimal rest 5 sets of 10 chinups.

 I’ve also been taking 40 minute Epson Salt baths at night to relax the muscles after the depletion workouts and noticed that my vascularity after these baths really comes to the fore. Wish I knew how to achieve the same effect on the day, but with all the tan than needs to be applied, I’m guessing a pre-show bath is out of the question.

 Day Two

 Diet, supplementation and exercise wise, today was an exact repeat of Day One, however for some reason I was feeling much better today. Hunger didn’t bother me at all, and my energy levels were ample enough for me to have a productive work day and workout in the evening. I switched more to a machine based workout today as opposed to the free-weight based lifts I did on Monday. It allowed me to focus more on the burn needed to deplete glycogen, and was an easier workout mentally. I felt pretty depleted, and achieving a pump even from those high reps was next to impossible.

 The rice cakes were enough to give me a bit of a pumped feeling all day long without the overall flatness I’ve felt with doing next to zero carb days in previous weeks. Having a bit of solid food as opposed to a carb workout shake is also a little more morale raising than drinking precious carb calories at this stage.

 I’m still as snappy as fuck and generally avoid people all-day as much as possible. In the gym I have experienced a surge of people offering their 2 cents worth of advice and sometimes (unfortunately) admonishment for doing things ‘wrong’. (The statement “Man, you’re looking soooooo skinny”, never fails to fuckin’ annoy) The overall level of support and encouragement from the majority of gym members however has been very much appreciated and my spirits have been buoyed by the well wishes received from people in general.

 After tonight’s bath I noticed a massive increase in the amount of veins running down my legs compared to normal and am happy that with only 2 days into this, I’m already seeing some improvements in the level of cuts and vascularity in certain body parts.

 Day Three

 Felt much better today physically and mentally and the low calorie grind was hardly noticeable despite the 1200 calorie runs being considerably lower than the previous weeks’ 1700 calorie days. I attribute this to adding in some whole food carbs in the form of rice cakes which help appease my psychological need for food. Energy and strength wise I’m definitely feeling lower than normal. No gym today, but pulling the sled today for 30 minutes was a hard test of will. The big serving of Scotch Fillet steak at the end with mushrooms and onions went down so well. I couldn’t imagine in my worst nightmares spacing out the meals through the day and eating a couple of bites here and there. Doing this phase of the diet in an IF fashion is the only way to keep oneself sane in my opinion.

 I’m already planning tomorrow’s carb up in my head and dreaming sweet dreams of carbs in all forms. My legs have added in some more detail and not feeling as flat as I thought I would be. I said it before – rice cakes are a wonderful thing!

Leave a Reply

