The Green Shake

One of the things I don’t do enough of is eat a healthy amount of fruit and vegetables. Like many bodybuilders, my food choices are drawn from a very limited pallete of foods that pretty much enjoy the same day in, day out rotation. I do this because I enjoy the structure and routine of eating meals that I know contain all my daily calories and macros without having to overthink things too much. This however, can give rise to a few problems namely;

* Eating the same foods too often can give rise to intolerances generated by overeating those foods. Over time I have developed some allergic reactions to things like milk and foods containing wheat because I simply ate them every day. Now if I eat these foods for more than one consecutive day I get skin reactions in the form of eczema. Not a great look. Even if I overdo fish oil I get a negative response in the form of bad brain fog.

* Nutritional deficiencies – You can’t expect to eat from a limited menu and expect to cover all your nutritional bases. I do add Biotest’s Superfood to my post workout shakes for insurance, but feel more peace of mind when I’m getting my nutrients from real food.

* Interestingly enough, I’ve found that when I’m more creative in the kitchen, trying out new recipes and ingredients, that same creativity extends to other areas of my life as well. You are what you eat, and if all you eat is the same boring shit everyday well that permeates the rest of your life as well. After all, variety is the spice of life. There is no more boring a person than a guy or girl whose entire existence revolves around bodybuilding.

All of these considerations have given rise to my latest dietary concoction – The Green Shake. I was inspired by Joe Rogan’s own Kale Shake recipe that he speaks so  highly of. It’s impossible to find kale here, so I go with spinach instead.

I was always told that juicing removes all the good stuff and that blending wasn’t a viable option. But, as usual most people are full of shit and outright wrong about most things and shouldn’t be listened to in the first place. Chugging down one of these babies everyday along with a few servings of vegetables with my evening meal more than covers my fruit and veg requirements and then some.

My Green Shake Recipe

2 fistfulls of spinach

1 cucumber

1 lemon

1 apple

1 pear

5 celery sticks

Some grated ginger

Cut up everything and blend it with a bit of water and ice cubes.

Carbs: 58

Protein: 5.8

Calories: 242

Fibre: 14.6

  1 comment for “The Green Shake

  1. pusillanimous punkster
    December 23, 2011 at 10:50 pm

    “most people” should include Joe Rogan. The man ‘trips the light fantastic’ and I don’t mean dancing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

