My Favourite Arnold Quote Relating to Success

arnold

“I lived by the training program. I was always master of writing out the programs. I knew that as soon as I put it down, the last thing I wanted to do was disappoint myself. I knew that I had to look in the mirror every day, and I could not look in the mirror and say, ‘You know something? You’re a fucking loser. You cannot do the kind of sets and exercises that you write down.’ I didn’t want to face that.”

I’m not one for motivational quotes and platitudes – those daily doses of inspiration that saturated my daily newsfeed when I used Facebook were about as motivating as a turd on a stick.

There is one quote that’s always stuck with me over the years from none other than Arnold S; and it’s this one.

“I lived by the training program. I was always master of writing out the programs. I knew that as soon as I put it down, the last thing I wanted to do was disappoint myself. I knew that I had to look in the mirror every day, and I could not look in the mirror and say, ‘You know something? You’re a fucking loser. You cannot do the kind of sets and exercises that you write down.’ I didn’t want to face that.”

Those Halcyon Days

I first saw it printed in that once great monthly magazine that become the progenitor and now the benchmark of supplement sell-outs: Muscle Media 2000. (Fuck you and your HMB, Phosphagen and Myoplex, Bill Phillips!)

But you see it everyday. People publicly announcing through social media they’re going to do this and that, compete in this contest, only months later, to (again) publicly announce that they’re withdrawing from the contest or simply failing to do whatever was on their wish list in the first place.

I’ve been guilty of over-committing at times and failing to fulfill my “promises” and for anyone with even a modicum of self respect – its the WORST, shitty feeling to fail on delivering on what you said you’d do, or lowering the bar on your own personal commitment to excellence.

Then there’s the unmet deadline. I have to say that there’s no weight heavier in the gym than an unmet deadline. Until you complete what you NEED to get done, that shit will weigh you down like no tomorrow.

Like Arnold so succinctly put it minus the self-help sugar coating we see so much of today;

I had to look in the mirror every day, and I could not look in the mirror and say, ‘You know something? You’re a fucking loser. You cannot do the kind of sets and exercises that you write down.’ I didn’t want to face that.”

When it’s all said and done and we have to face that mirror can we be proud knowing we gave it a 100%?

Excuses are for losers; and self-pity is for assholes. I’ve had to learn that the hard way and it’s a dish that tastes worse than the worst dogshit.

Anyway enough of this. I hate motivational platitudes.

Oh. And Happy Birthday Arnold, you old fuck!

Leave a Reply

