Current Self-Experiments In Progress

What’s New?

"I'm comin' for you Arnold!" My Steve Reeve's "Hercules", "fuck-it-I-don't-have-a-job-anyway" 7 day growth.

“I’m comin’ for you Arnold!”
My Steve Reeve’s “Hercules”, “fuck-it-I-don’t-have-a-job-anyway” 7 day growth.

After a year of wheel spinning in no productive direction, I finally feel like my training and diet are on point enough to begin putting together another contest prep for next year. I’ll compete in the men’s open intermediates with the goal of winning the overall title this time. I’m also game enough to compete in some of the non-tested federations’ weight class divisions to see how I’ll fare.

Getting a tan is the first necessary step in one's contest prep....yes I realise I look like i'm grabbing my dick in this pic.

Getting a tan is the first necessary step in one’s contest prep….yes I realise I look like i’m grabbing my dick in this pic.

Training wise I’m currently in an accumulation phase running the Hypertrophy Specific (HST) program which I’ll be reviewing in a couple of weeks. With this program I’ve been training twice a day, six days a week to capitalise on the strength gains I made with Candito’s program and give every body part a thorough thrashing.  I’ll then transition into a 6 week intensification phase to move my strength up even further test running Christian Thibaudeau’s Strength Circuits.

Number one priority has been getting these arms to fucking grow!

Number one priority has been getting these arms to fucking grow!

Because of my recent intensive, twice a day training I’ve had to go back to a more frequent feeding schedule eating 4-5 times a day. I thought it would be a neat idea to really shock the body with a two week burst of calories in the form of the 12 Labors Diet Dwayne Johnson (The Rock) used to beef up for his Hercules role. It’s definitely been “interesting” switching from 2 meals a day to 8-9 and I’ll write up the details soon in a future post.

12 labors meal7 meal6 meal5 meal4 meal3 meal2

7 Meals plus 3 extra Protein Shakes everyday for two weeks.

7 Meals plus 3 extra Protein Shakes EVERYDAY for two weeks.

I’ve been reading a few different books on Performance Enhancing Drugs in a variety of sports as well as a bunch of different reads about the Classic-Golden Era of bodybuilding. I’ll review them all once done.

I’ve also been interested in the power of the mind and psychology in bodybuilding, so I’ve been experimenting with a few meditation and self hypnosis techniques that are also worth a future post.

In other news, I received my first ever, Gay for Pay offer last week which I politely declined despite the generous cash offer….maybe it’s the beard; I don’t know….

I might very well be leaving Thailand’s sunny shores for newer pastures with the government’s latest Visa crackdown. I’m glad I packed light….

Met this massive European Amateur training at the gym today. Dude was a HULK and caused quite a stir walking down the busy Pattaya streets after his training session. Pity I can’t remember his name…if you know, please pass it on in comments! Cheers.

Guy's first workout here and not a single air-conditioner in the building was working. He asked, "Is it always this hot??"

Guy’s first workout here and not a single air-conditioner in the building was working. He asked, “Is it always this hot??”

 

 

  6 comments for “Current Self-Experiments In Progress

  1. Matt
    August 12, 2014 at 5:05 pm

    Just found your blog. Great stuff. Hope you keep posting.

    Like

  2. August 13, 2014 at 12:10 am

    Thanks Matt. I appreciate it.

    Like

  3. Ammar
    August 15, 2014 at 5:21 pm

    Agreed with Matt’s comment above, just ran into your blog today and been devouring the info you had on eating twice a day, IF and bulking (have not read anyone mentioning this aspect properly)..I did not realize you were a competitive bodybuilder as well..please keep the good information coming..any tips for beginning weight trainers would be amazing too..thx

    Like

    • August 16, 2014 at 12:33 am

      Thanks for the comment Anmar. Glad to help.

      My next post will review an approach that is ideal for both beginners-advanced trainees who want to use I.F. for cutting, maintenance or bulking.

      If there’s anything specific you’d like to know about any topic, don’t hesitate to ask, and I’ll do my best to answer or write a post about it.

      Thanks!

      Like

      • Ammar
        August 18, 2014 at 6:43 pm

        Hey Shawn,

        Yes that kind of I.F article sounds like exactly what I’ve been looking for, especially coming from yourself who actually maintains a solid competitive physique. I don’t mind the whole 5-6 feedings approach but it’s just way too time consuming (and slightly expensive) from a non-professional (personal) standpoint.

        Thanks again for taking out the time to do this! Will go through your blog more and devour what I can lol.

        Looks like a lot of good writers are based out of South East Asia, gotta make a trip, my brother recently spent a year in Singapore (and surrounding areas), apparently quite the transformative experience.

        -A

        Like

      • August 20, 2014 at 2:26 am

        Thanks Anmar, and if you have any questions about any specifics, don’t hesitate to ask.

        It’s funny, because for the last few weeks I’ve been running that 12 Labors Diet listed above, eating 7 meals a day along with shakes. It’s not the volume of food that’s the problem but the constant eating to the clock and being tied to the kitchen all day long. The differences in terms of tangible positives (strength or weight gain) has been very negligible.

        You’re definitely correct about life in S.E Asia being a a life changing experience. I highly recommend some extended time here for guys sick of the whole western scene. I’m not so much a fan of the big cities, but the smaller coastal areas make for a nice change of pace.

        Like

Leave a Reply

