2015 Competition Plan of Attack

My Training and Nutrition Manifesto.

Six months out and I’m formulating a plan of attack for the coming show next March. Today I weighed in at 187lbs. Abs are still visible with vascularity still present in both my legs and abs. My goal weight at the end of the next two months is 191lbs. Anything over that is a bonus as long as I maintain a condition that puts me within striking distance of a show.

The first comp is an untested IFBB event – I’ll compete in a weight class so that I don’t totally get my ass handed to me, and it will be a good lead in to some of the other natural shows occurring at the same time.

I want to come in at 75kg (~170lb) at 5’7 for the Men’s Open Classic Division. Compared to the horribly skeletal look I presented at my first show, I’ll be infinitely more fuller and aiming to replicate the look of someone like an 80’s Labrada or Zane.

Labrada competing at 176lb - the look I want to emulate.

Labrada competing at 176lb – the look I want to emulate.

labrada pose2

I will also compete in the Men’s Masters Division (Over 40’s)

I will “bulk” during the next two months adding as much mass as I can. My initial calories and macros are looking like this;

Weight Training Day Calories around 5,500

Diet weights1 diet weights2

 

photo 1 (1)

Non Weight Training Day Calories around 4700.

Diet non weights 1Diet non weights 2

 

photo 2 (2)

I’m going to rotate periods of intermittent fasting with frequent feedings. If I’m failing to gain at least a pound a week on the scale then the week’s calories totals will be increased by 300 calories.

Supplements will be kept to the bare minimum. For the next 2-3 months I’ll be using creatine and protein powder only.

For the “bulking-period” I will use the 5/3/1 and HST Programs rotating them ever 6 weeks with a week off only if I feel I need it.

5/3/1 gets shit on by a lot of people in the Powerlifting community, but I think it’s a very underrated program for bodybuilding especially when paired with the Big But Boring template. When I used it in the past I managed to make great progress in terms of strength and size as the programming is laid out with zero guess work.

5/3/1 helped bring up my back width and thickness tremendously.

5/3/1 helped bring up my back width and thickness tremendously.

I will be be specializing in bringing up my calves and arms devoting one whole day to calves and training them for a total of 5 sessions a week.

Arm size and bicep peak needs to come up.

Arm size and bicep peak needs to come up.

I will begin dieting in December and use HST almost exclusively up to the show as I feel it is the most effective program for gaining/sustaining mass without putting unnecessary wear/tear and strain on the body or mind. Training HST twice a day is also useful in lieu of doing cardio which I think is largely counterproductive especially as a natural competitor.

So that’s the plan, now it’s up to me to make it work. It’s going to be an interesting 6 months. Time to get to it!

 

Leave a Reply

