Dieting Progress

After the bulk that left me looking and feeling like shit, I decided to return back to an IF setup (or maybe you could call it a Predator Diet setup since I ran whey isolate shakes every 3 hours and had a one solid food meal at night) and began slowly reducing the calories down from the 6000 mark over a period of 16 weeks. I used HST as my training structure for the majority of my body-parts.

This was a very comfortable weight drop over the time frame. I didn’t do any cardio. I trained 6 days a week and gradually took my calories down to a low of 2000 with one cheat day a week where I ate what I wanted within limits. Carbs were low most days and my health returned to excellent levels.

2000 cals - macros

2000 cals – macros

I had my bloods checked again and everything that was drifting into unsafe territory before, normalised within 12 weeks. My thyroid corrected. My cholesterol dropped dramatically.

Over the 16 weeks I took my weight from 88kg (193lbs) to 76kg (167lbs) very easily.

An average day of eating looked something like this.

Meal 1 – Whey Isolate Shake

Meal 2 – Whey Isolate Shake

Meal 3 – Whey Isolate Shake

Meal 4 – 4 rice cakes & Whey Isolate Shake

Intraworkout – 1 scoop PeptoPro

Meal 5 – 3 Kangaroo Burger Patties, 4-5 whole eggs, Onion, mushroom and fruit/veg green-shake blend. Macadamia oil.

16 weeks prior

16 weeks prior

Cut but very carb depleted and flat.

Taken first thing in the morning with no pump or food – cut but very carb depleted and flat.

photoScreen Shot 2015-11-21 at 12.30.50 pm

Nov2015leg

Vascularity returning to legs

My strength stayed consistent throughout the program and I hit PR’s on many exercises particularly Dips, Hamstring exercises, Shoulder Presses, Hammer Strength Incline Presses etc. My bench strength crashed horribly though and I went from a former 315 (140kg) for 5 down to 286lb (130kg) for 4 tough ones. Strangely, my high rep sets on bench held steady and I PR’ed 17 reps on 220 (100kg)

I can conclusively say that HST is an amazing program for slowly inching those lifts up and maintaining strength on a cut.

I didn’t do any heavy deads and I think my back thickness has suffered for it to be honest. Nor did I do HST for quads. I had one day a week dedicated to quads  and used Serge Nubret’s Pump Training to pump the hell out of them at the expense of lifting heavy. If you’ve never tried this program for your legs before, I really recommend it. If you keep the rest periods short, the pain and demands on the CV system and leg musculature are horrible.

The plan from here on out is to experiment with “mini-bulks and cuts” using a long forgotten variation on the once hyped ABCDE Diet from the days of Muscle Media. More info on that little experiment soon…

bill davey

Bill Davey – model for the MM2000 ABCDE Diet Article…aka, the good old days.

  3 comments for “Dieting Progress

  1. Matt
    November 23, 2015 at 11:06 am

    Matt

    Like

  2. Matt
    November 23, 2015 at 11:07 am

    Cannot wait for your post on ABCDE. I remember that from the old Muscle Media days. It’s still one of those concepts that I look back at and think… “but it makes so much sense….”

    Like

    • November 23, 2015 at 1:11 pm

      Hey Matt – Yes, been running it for just over a week now and I can already notice a difference. Will update this week with my progress.

      Like

Leave a Reply

