Five Bullet Friday

What I’m Reading

Gulp

“Gulp -Adventures on the Alimentary Canal” –  Mary Roach. Considering the amount of food we ingest as bodybuilders, this might be one of the most fascinating and important books you ever read on the rarely thought about and otherwise taboo journeys our food take through the alimentary canal. Not only is our very health and happiness dependant on intestinal microflora and inner workings of our organ health, it’s an entertaining and educational journey to boot. Roach is my favourite writer in the pop-science genre today. I also recommend her “Packing For Mars” and “Bonk -The Curious Coupling of Science and Sex”

What I’m Watching

“Manny” is a documentary on the Filipino boxer’s ascendancy through the corrupt world of boxing. An entertaining watch, but its shallow depiction of the enigmatic Pacquiao left me with more questions than answers.

I never normally would have watched anything resembling Amy Schumer’s “Trainwreck“, but I’m glad I did. I thought it was hilarious and energetic change of pace; worth it alone for John Cena’s performance.

What I’m Listening To

yagya sleepy girls

Yagya – Sleepygirls

I’m trying to be more mindful when I eat in order to maximise the enjoyment and experience at every (limited) meal. I’ve been listening to this Icelandic techno album and love its non-intrusive, hypnotic style. I can literally feel the post-workout cortisol decreasing courtesy of its light ambient rhythms.

Bodybuilding News

Rich Piana has kicked off his daily series leading viewers through the process of gaining 30 pounds in 4 months. Piana’s a fascinating character you can’t help but watch and like. If I wasn’t competing, I’d be doing this for sure….minus the Serostims of course.

Palumbo at Rx Muscle featured some excellent interviews with Jay Cutler and Lee Labrada this week that provided a lot of insight into the competitive and personal histories of each man.

According to Ron Harris, seems Dorian Yates original training dungeon, Temple Gym is closing its doors with Yates opening a less-dungeony version, in Marbella, Spain.

temple gym

Yates Temple Gym closing? End of an era if it’s true.

Pic Of The Week

Some funny look-alike comparison shots featured in a thread on the MD Forums this week worth a repost.

Franco Tattoo

heath thing

chich

 

 

  2 comments for “Five Bullet Friday

  1. Brent
    January 9, 2016 at 8:35 pm

    Awesome pic of Yates. His arms look better there than later in his career (and I mean pre injury).

    Like

    • January 14, 2016 at 5:03 am

      Agreed – I’m wondering if that’s due to a higher volume approach in his younger years compared to his later, Blood & Guts style. Arms seem to like the lighter, pump, higher volume treatment it seems for most…

      Like

Leave a Reply

