Wednesday – 10 Days Out – Hamstrings and Quads – Justin Compton: The Great White Hope?

leg golds

Kai seems to be a shoo-in for this year’s Arnold, but if there’s a dark horse upset looming, it’s definitely in the form of Justin Compton who seems from recent pictures to have officially left humanity behind.

The back double biceps is insane and I think this guy is future Mr Olympia caliber if he can mitigate the early burnout/injury that seems to plague white bodybuilders who burst onto the scene with so much potential.

justin_compton

justin-compton

Another young Aussie who’s tearing up social media with some very impressive pics is Nathan Williamson who has a physique that in my opinion IS BODYBUILDING! At 25 years old he’s a force to be reckoned with on the competitive scene down under and a true inspiration to be admired aesthetically. That side tricep is a work of art.

nathan williamson nathan_williamson]

Training

zane squats

Had a shit sleep last night because the place I’m staying at had a German blow in who’s still running on European time. Hanz Kuntz woke me up at 2:30am fucking around in his room and I couldn’t get back to sleep, so I lay awake reading till 4:30am whereupon I gave up and hit the gym. The Double-Split leg session was really hard but I did my best and just ground my way through it, dropping the weight a little to get the volume in and keep the rest short.

I don’t normally listen to music, but I chucked on a random Youtube mix and it helped tremendously. Coincidentally, the mix was about 40 minutes long and ended PRECISELY when I hit my last rep of the workout. I took it as a sign, considering that it was my final leg session before the show.

franco lunge

5:00AM – Hamstrings – Serge Nubret Pump Training

Seated Leg Curls
100lbs x 12 x 4 (30 seconds rest)
77lbs x 12 x 4 (30 seconds rest)

Lying Leg Curls
77lbs x 12 x 8

Body Weight Walking Lunges x 30 reps per leg x 2

4:00PM – Quads – Serge Nubret Pump Workout

30 seconds rest between all sets

Leg Extensions – 165lb x 12 x 6

Lunges – 45lb x 12 x 4

Hack Squats – 265lb x 12 x 5

Leg Press – 265lb x 20 x 3

Front Squats – 135 x 12 x 4

1 Leg Bulgarian Squats – BW x 25 x 2

Body Weight Lunges in Place – BW x 30 alternating each leg

2 Hours Later – 30 mins of Steady State Treadmill 5.5km per hour

Diet

Ate a bit more today because of the double-session leg workout and cardio session before bed.

Meal One
4 Egg Whites
Konjac Noodles
200g Avocados
4 Whole Eggs
Mushroom, Tomato, Garlic

Meal Two
125g Salmon

Meal Three
2 Kangaroo burgers

Meal Four
4 Egg Whites
Konjac Noodles

Meal Five
3 Egg Whites
15g Almond Spread

Meal Six
1 Scoop PeptoPro
1 Scoop Vitargo

Meal Seven
6 Egg Whites
Konjac Noodles

Meal Eight
2 Scoops Cellucor
250g Strawberries
1/2 Cup Almond Milk

Protein: 228g – 46%
Carbs:98g – 20%
Fat:- 74g – 34%
Calories: 1979

 

  7 comments for “Wednesday – 10 Days Out – Hamstrings and Quads – Justin Compton: The Great White Hope?

  1. March 2, 2016 at 10:40 pm

    Very good man! Are you on ABCDE cutting phase? =)

    Like

    • March 2, 2016 at 11:53 pm

      No mate – full competition dieting at the moment. I’ll go back to ABCDE when this is done in a few weeks though. I love that style of eating and will stick to it for a while post competition.

      Like

  2. Schimi
    March 3, 2016 at 9:07 am

    Hey Shawn long time no see buddy:-)
    Haven’t been here for a while as life took over but finally had a bit of time to check on your blog and pogress and gotta say you never disappoint me;-) loving all of it and I wanted to thank you for all this hard work keeping this blog running especially during last stages of precontest diet! That,I truly admire as finding time for writing after busy day at school on high volume regimen,posing,food prepping,low cals etc must be really challenging.

    I’m glad to hear you feel good and can’t wait for the final result of your hard work,good luck buddy; -)

    Like

    • March 3, 2016 at 11:43 am

      Thanks mate – that truly means a lot. I was just thinking the other day that I hadn’t heard from you in a while and now you appear!
      Hope everything is going well for you too. Training and diet still on point?

      Like

      • Schimi
        March 3, 2016 at 6:10 pm

        Always checking on your progress from thousands miles away 😀 As for me training and diet still in off season buddy as I sat down with me mate (competitor too) and we talked about our goals,improvements and expectations for our next competition and we agreed that me going all the way down to classic bbng division would be going backwards and contrary to my goals and to be honest my physique looks better with more mass. I’m having incredibly good progress on all lifts in all rep ranges and put a decent mass on too so very pleased with my programming and milking it as much as possible atm;-) gonna stay at this weight and work on more density so by spring 2017 I’ll show very different physique. Goal is to be around 110kg by Xmas at 10/11% bf.

        Like

      • March 4, 2016 at 10:56 am

        Awesome man. Gonna give that Fortitude Training a go once this is all done. Been reading the book and listening to Scott’s extensive knowledge on training via various podcasts, so looking forward to that.

        Good work re: the improvements – would like to see some pics! You sound like a beast!

        Like

  3. Schimi
    March 4, 2016 at 7:27 pm

    I like Scott a lot as he’s devoted all his life to iron game and is defo the man to talk to;-) I actually haven’t trained his system yet but came up with something similar before he wrote his book so can relate totally to his methodology. Also don’t forget that I train lots of time as a powerlifter too as I always liked challenging myself on the big lifts and big assistance lifts. So when you put together high frequency, decent intensity and lots of volume with DUP periodization plus lots of food you gonna grow; -) here and there I have “intensification phases” where volume goes down but intensity goes even higher. I think my body is suited to big weights and high reps.

    As for me pics it’s a tricky one as my phone and computer got stolen a while ago so lost all my files from competing and diet progress pics etc let alone I wouldn’t even know how to post them. Don’t do FB or IG bullshit,too busy for that lol.

    Like

Leave a Reply

