Competing in the Arnold Classic – My Results

arnold trophy]

Arnold was perhaps the biggest one of the biggest influences for me getting into bodybuilding. Never would I have dreamed that I would be competing in the contest that bears his name and be onstage as he awarded the winning trophy with my other idol and inspiration, Shawn Ray who compered the show.

Screen Shot 2016-03-21 at 6.07.32 pm

photo

I had to stand on stage next to this monster and overall winner from Kuwait – Ahmad Ashkanani

It’s been a brutal weekend. I’ll recap in more detail later because i’ve only had one hour’s sleep in the last 48 hours and just put in a full day back at work. It’s my birthday today and I’m content to drink a fruit smoothie and eat some roasted chicken as my celebratory meal.

To summarise, I didn’t qualify for Classic Physique. The contest shifted the weight requirements and I had to be 3kg lighter than my previous week. Stepping off the plane and straight onto the registration scale I was told I had 4kg to lose in an hour. I frantically ran to the gym and began pedalling my already dehydrated and starving ass off on the stationary bike. I hadn’t eaten or drank anything in anticipation of the weigh in for over 15 hours, and now I was going to have to go places physically that I knew would probably endanger my health. After an hour I barely shifted more than a pound and headed back to the registration to weigh my options.

photo 1 (1)

How and where the fuck was I going to be able to strip another 4kg off of this????

Weighing in at 69.9kg I was told I could shift to the under 70kg bodybuilding or Masters. Since the Open Men’s Bodybuilding carries much more competitive prestige and I would be positioned at the top of the U70kg weight class, it was a no-brainer. Inside I was devastated because I knew that I could win the overall Classic Title, but would have no chance against the international amateur lineup from all the different weight classes in the overall.

I’ll expand further on my experiences with the show and its events later, but I ended up winning the under 70’s division and held my own against the giants and monsters from the heavier divisions in the overall. It was a hell of a weekend. Definitely not an enjoyable experience at all as I’ll later relate – but still, one of the most memorable times in my life.

photo 2 (2)

 

  1 comment for “Competing in the Arnold Classic – My Results

  1. March 21, 2016 at 3:46 pm

    Happy Birthday, brother! Wish you all the best.

    Like

Leave a Reply

